Parade Registration

The Delano 4th of July Parade

Our 2014 Grand Marshal will be Miss Madeline. Madeline, representing the Wishes & More charity, is a delightful 6-year old who was born with Hypo Plastic Left Heart Syndrome which requires on-going treatments. This has meant a few really tough procedures and surgeries in her 6 years. She is a trooper though and we’re counting on her to represent all of our Wishes & More kids and families as she leads the State's oldest parade on America’s Birthday! 

All roads to the parade route will close at 9:00 a.m. with the parade beginning at 10:30 a.m. - see map below. Please come to town early and pick your spot to enjoy the morning festivities!  

The parade begins at Delano High School at the corner of Tiger Drive and Elm Avenue, parade route ends in Central Park at the crossing of North River Street and 3rd Street.

Parade Units Alphabetical
Parade Units by Number

Grand Marshal History

2014 - Madeline, representing Wishes & More

2013 - Mike Max, WCCO Sports

2012 - Keith Marler, Fox 9 Meteorologist

2011 - Merrill Pavlovich, MSHSL Coaching Hall of Famer, Delano HS Football

2010 - John Randle, NFL Hall of Fame

2009 - Mike Lynch, WCCO Radio Meterologist

2008 - Margaret (Cedergren) Vaughan, First Miss Delano (1968)

2007 - Jason Davis, KSTP TV "On the Road"

2006 - Tim Pawlenty, MN Governor

2005 - Brock Lesnar, NCAA Wrestling Champion

2004 - Delano Academics: Destination Imagination/Science Olympiad

2003 - Lori Line, musician

2002 - The Durst Quadruplets

2001 - Nate Althoff, Utah Utes Basketball

2000 - Scouting in Delano: Wylene Van Guilder and Burton Barber, Scout Leaders

1999 – Ragnar, Minnesota Vikings Mascot

1998 – Jesse Ventura, Governor, Professional Wrestler, Actor

1997 – Terri Traen, KQRS Radio Host

1996 – Crunch, MN Timberwolves Mascot

1995 – Roger Erickson, WCCO Radio

1994 – Char Iten

1993 – Palani Theis, 1993 Easter Seal Society Child Representative

1992 – Sally Adams, “Billboard Sally”

(see: A knack for knowing things: stories from St. Paul neighborhoods and beyond  By Don Boxmeyer, p. 160)

1991 – Sgt. Loren Stabnow, Desert Storm Vet

1990 – Gordon Barnden, Royal British Legion Club, Walton-On-Naze, Essex, England

1989 – Martin and Kitty Van Lith, WWII veterans

1988 – Craig Hartsburg, Minnesota North Stars

1987 – Neal Broten, Minnesota North Stars

1986 – Corrie Jean Dibb, Miss Minnesota US Teen 1986

1985 – Veterans: Henry Elsen, WWI; Donald Weigenant, WWII; Joseph Kittok, Vietnam

1984 – Bill Farmer, WCCO

1983 – Ray Christensen, WCCO

1982 – Ray Christensen, WCCO

1981 –

1980 –

1979 –

1978 –

1977 – Hubert H. Humphrey, Senator

1976 – Hubert H. Humphrey, Senator


If anyone has information on grand marshals prior to 1976 (or 1978-1981), contact Gueningsman at: (763) 972-1028 or at



Parade Route Map


Files (PDF Format)

Adobe Acrobat Download

Parade Chairman

Tom Schaffer
PH: (763) 972-8888
Email Tom